Nixa Missouri Sports

Mike Essick is now 449-210 and recently completed his third season as a member of the University of Missouri football team. He was a four-year winner of the league title, 13-5, while starting in the rotation the last three years, leading the team to victory in 1993 and 1994 and serving as team captain in 1995.

This year, he struck out 93 and also set a school record with a .559 batting average, which has stood for eight years. He was a member of the St. Louis Cardinals baseball team for four years, hitting 12 home runs, driving in a team-best 46 runs and striking out 30 in 46 innings. Drury played three seasons in the major leagues for the Chicago White Sox and the New York Yankees. After graduating from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, N.C., in 2009, she joined Drary University in 2010 to become the first female head coach in school history to restart the baseball program.

Marion Kerr, who coached the team in 1959, was the first to reach the state semifinals and is now part of a team that is in the midst of Nixon's 25-20 win season. The program has made it into the top 10 of the Missouri High School Athletics Association rankings every year since the 1970s, with the other years being 1974, 1986 and 2012.

The 1959 team reached the S-class final before flying to New Haven. The Eagles also reached the quarterfinals in 1994 and 2015, winning two national titles, one in 1974 and one in 1986. In all, the Eagles have won nine trips to the Final Four, three national titles (1974, 1986 and 2012) and one national title (1986). The 2015 team (28-2) lost in the quarterfinals and in the final seconds to the second-ranked St. Louis Central High School team (29-3).

The program has produced 74 players who went on to play college, including four of the nation's top 10 and the second-highest total in program history (74) .Four players have evolved into professional baseball, which includes Bundy, Drury, Epps and Central Missouri, all of whom played at the University of Missouri - St. Louis, Missouri State and Kansas State. The 1999 team (29-4) won the third grade, with a six-man rotation that included two first-grade pitchers in Matt Dominguez and Zach D'Arnaud, as well as a number of other high school and college players. One 2012 team was made up of players heavily recruited from the state's top high schools, such as Bundy and Drary and Eppens from Central Arkansas and a host of others from Missouri and Missouri.

He spent 17 seasons in professional baseball, retired after the 2013 season and went on to play for the St. Louis Cardinals in the Penn League and the Kansas City Royals in the National League.

He coached at Hillcrest High School in Ozark, where he was head coach from 2002 to 2013, during which time the team won four Ozarks Conference championships with an 87-69 record. He also led the team to second place in the 2002 national ranking, while OzARK finished fourth in 2011. Wixson led Hillcrest to its first national championship in school history this season and its third national title in the past four years. His coaching staff includes former players Lee Ellington and Randall Johnson of the St. Louis Cardinals and Kansas City Royals, as well as former players from Missouri State University and Missouri University of Missouri.

Greg Lindstrom was a four-year starter in left field for Hillcrest High School, the Falcons reaching the 1988 state tournament. He later hit 549 as a senior in 1990, and he was the first player on the team - Team All - Ozark Conference in 1988 and 1990.

He became a member of the College of Ozarks, which later inducted him into the Academy's Hall of Fame. He struck out 427 with 94 RBI, and he ended his preseason career as a four-year starter in left field for Hillcrest High School, the team's all-time leader in hits.

He led the Tigers to four Final Fours as a member of the nightmare club in 2013 that won the national C-World Series title and led them to the first national championship in program history last year. He led his club to the NCAA tournament in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015, and to the College World Cup in 2014.

The Tour's prize-sanding charity event is presented by Dr Pepper, which has raised more than $14.7 million in its 28-year history. In addition, the Hall of Fame presented its President's Award to John Cyrus, who retired as Major League Baseball's sole leader and is known to have a positive impact on the game. The President Award is presented to a person who has done more than his or her service to baseball.

More About Nixa

More About Nixa